• Dr. Tammé Shinshuri
      June 7, 2016 at 9:32 PM #4516

Share your perspective of the Oracle Learning Community (OLC) Portal.

• What do you like most?
      • What do you like the least?
    • Kimerli Sawyer
      June 7, 2016 at 9:32 PM #5605

For me, it is too early to know what I like most/least, as I have not had an opportunity to fully explore the portal or use it in real or live situations. I can say that it is a bit confusing for me to navigate at this point in time. I am not a “tech” type person, so I prefer a more user-friendly interface. I don’t know if that is because I’m still learning the portal or if it should be made more simplistic for those of us who are not so computer saavy.

• KimAlyse Popkave, M.Ed.
        June 7, 2016 at 9:32 PM #5610

Hello, Kimerli.

Give yourself the opportunity to play on the portal. That is the best way to learn it. Do not be afraid of it. It is fairly simple to use. I have never really thought of myself as a tech savvy person, but I have managed to teach myself everything I need to know, as the need arises.
        Our portal is no different. Go at it with a sense of play and discovery. Ask questions when you get stuck. I am always willing to help. So is Tammé.

• Dr. Tammé Shinshuri
        June 7, 2016 at 9:32 PM #5617

@Kimerli we are taking a unique approach to educational delivery on our platform. To KimAlyse’s point. It is designed to be a discovery-based learning platform. So we naturally reinforce and encourage self-sufficiency as a primary educational aim.

I know unequivocally from human behavior that students tend to take the path of least resistance in an attempt to get things done quicker such as copying, asking for help from others without first trying things out for themselves. There is nothing wrong with seeking out additional help and guidance, however we want students to be active not passive learners to mitigate complacency and mediocrity.