• Dr. Tammé Shinshuri
      August 1, 2016 at 5:34 PM #6228

Forum Assignment

Start a discussion topic below that address the comment below:

Share a life experience or situation you had that required you to use an ethical mind.

Be certain to read and comment on other student posts, and ask clarifying questions.

• KimAlyse Popkave, M.Ed.
      August 1, 2016 at 5:34 PM #6250

As an educator, I feel it is imperative to always conduct myself in an ethical manner when dealing with colleagues and students. One situation, in particular, comes to mind. One of the courses that I have been facilitating for many years at the college level is Speech (Public Speaking). My Course Syllabus is very thorough. It spells out in great detail what I expect from my students, and what my students should expect from the course and from me. I have always abided by my syllabus. I also give students all of their major speech assignments, in detail, during the first or second class session of the course. That way, students understand from the beginning what is required.

One of the speeches that I require students to present is a persuasive speech on a research-intensive topic. The topic must be of a controversial nature. They are required to meet with me for topic and approach approval. They are further required to utilize Monroe’s Motivated Sequence (MMR) to organize their presentations. I have a Note to Students on the assignment that if they do not do the research, they will not be permitted to present. If they do not utilize (MMR), they will not be permitted to present. In such a case, the grade will stand at 0% for the speech.